keeperstill.blogg.se

Sublime art
Sublime art












sublime art

Much love from the biggest Sublime fan I know. I just hope you know, Bradley would be proud. I can’t wait for the new album to drop, I already pre-ordered it. Now I’m glad to say that thanks to you if been able to tell a girl to take it or leave it, I understand that lovers change like the seasons, and my world is a little bit safer. I have had the privilege of attending two of the Sublime with Rome concerts in El Paso. But sadly I was never able to see Brad perform live.Īnd I never dreamed I would be able to hear his music come to life on stage. Thanks to Brad I know what it’s like to be waiting for my ruca, I know that loving is what I got and for motherf**kers to remember that, and if I’m drunk by noon it’s ok, cuz I’ll be president someday. If it wasn’t for Sublime, I would be lost in a dark abyss of depression self loathing. I know every word to every song that they made. All the music that Brad created with Bud and Eric will forever be entwined with my soul. Sublime and SWR fan Fan Manny Gonzales said it best (on a Facebook comment on Rome’s FB Page): Sublime with Rome’s Rome Ramirez, Eric Wilson and Josh Freese Photo by Jonie Millhouse The new album is called SIRENS, it released on July 17 th. I’m happy with how it turned out, I hope everyone else is, too. This painting came together quick and easy, it just flowed. (Share in the comments what you think it is.) There’s a tribute to Bradley in there, I’ll leave that up to the viewer to figure out what it is. I’ve been drawing this fish forever and wanted to include it. The psycho garibaldi fish is a throw-back to the Bad Fish lyrics. The sexy siren is an omen, a ghostly premonition. The cop car in pieces is all that’s left of the cops. There’s an off-ramp to the 710 freeway to LA, which is shaking as a big earthquake comes through.

sublime art

It’s getting ready to be hammered by a giant wave. The depiction of Long Beach is the pile of rubble they’re sitting on. The heart represents Rome singing his heart and soul out on the stage. The mushroom is a spin-off of Opie’s mushroom from the original Sublime art. The little skeleton guy I pictured the old WWII air raids when they had to crank the siren. There’s a lot of elements in the art and each piece has meaning to it. THE ARTWORK: ( Click here to see in-progress photos of the work or watch the video of it being painted here) The band agreed to sign 100 of the art prints for me, which is awesome. That way I could use the artwork, without the lettering, for limited edition art prints. I painted two 36” x 36” paintings on canvas one with the art and one with the hand-drawn lettering. It’s cool when projects go down like that it just kind of happens, no dragging on. Rome e-mailed me back with “WTF! You’re killing it!” One fan of SWR said it best about Rome continuing the music that inspired so many – read that at the bottom of this post.Īfter gathering my ideas, I drew my first concept sketch and sent it to the band for feedback. No doubt we’ll be listening to these songs for years to come, they are so good. It helped me come up with ideas for the art. I listened to the new album for inspiration. Rome’s whole spin-off was about sirens going off the world’s a crazy place. One of the things I’m really good at is soaking up someone’s energy and then putting it into the art. I spent a lot of time on the phone with Rome, feeling him out, picking up the vibe and listening. Sometimes deadlines force you to do your best work. We had a super tight deadline, I had only 10 days to get it done. It felt good to know that my work has progressed enough to be in the same company and to be able to work with talented people like SWR’s Eric Wilson, Josh Freese and Rome Ramirez.

sublime art

I’ve always been a fan of Opie Ortiz, the artist who created art for Sublime’s albums, including his iconic burning sun for the 40 oz. They asked if I would want to create the art for their new album. That’s why we were so stoked when Maria got a call from Sublime with Rome’s record company in May. It’s also the year that I met Maria.Īt that time, Bradley Nowell’s lyrics and music impacted all of us at our parties Maria would play Sublime’s self titled CD over and over again. That was the year when my life as an artist changed dramatically I had just moved to California from Hawaii and was painting surfboards for Lost. In 1996 Sublime’s music was a big part of my life. Photo: Sublime with Rome Sirens Album Cover Art














Sublime art